Ethical Empowerment: Virtue Beyond the Paradigms presents an ethical theory designed to encourage ethical thinking in terms of multiple perspectives that go beyond ideology and dogma. By so doing it develops an understanding of ethics and morality that transcends rigid and sometimes inapplicable rules by returning to the principle of universal love. The result is an ethical framework for unconventional ideas and research that challenges traditional beliefs which are vested in ideological, financial and political interests that–through various mechanisms, seek to maintain the status quo.

Love, as the basis of morality, when analytically considered, makes it possible to examine difficult moral conundrums and seemingly intractable social, economic and political issues from new perspectives. The limitations of classical ethics have never been more apparent than in today’s dysfunctional world. Filled with controversial ideas, this is a book that is designed to engage the reader and spark healthy debate.
Among the many issues that are discussed and critiqued–in light of the ethical theory developed, are the current monetary and economic systems, the potential abuse of scientific paradigms, the possible suppression of discovery and invention, and the dubious virtue of political parties.
From the perspective of a love-based ethics, a long-term view of a peaceful and flourishing world is not merely possible but may, with time, become inevitable.

The Naughty King Series-Based on Exodus 8-14- by Suzanne C Jones

The Naughty King Series-Based on Exodus 8-14- by Suzanne C Jones

Suzanne, born and raised in outback Queensland, Australia, has over 30 years experience working with and teaching young children.

As an experienced primary school teacher Suzanne is very knowledgeable of young children’s needs and interests. Being a dedicated and practising Christian Suzanne brings a wealth of biblical knowledge to her writing in a very humorous and practical way.

‘The Naughty King Series: based on Exodus 8-14’, is a set of 5 children’s, picture books ( under one cover) told from the perspective of the creatures sent to plague the disobedient king enslaving God’s people, the Hebrews. The series is humorous, interactive and educational with hints provided for parents or teachers using it. The books of the series are: ‘Frog City’; ‘Mossie Squadron’; ‘Fly Fleet’; ‘Locust Lift Off; and ‘City of Tears’. This series is designed for the younger reader but can provide enjoyment and value to the older child as well.

The purpose of the series is to draw attention to, and promote discussion around the vital concept of obedience to God. It is available through as a paperback.

On Higher Ground – by Paula Hrbacek

On Higher Ground - by Paula Hrbacek

On Higher Ground highlights Pensacola landmarks

Pensacola FL—Author Paula Hrbacek is pleased to announce the release of her new Christian romance novel, “On Higher Ground”. Set in Pensacola FL, the novel highlights several local landmarks such as the clamshell at Quietwater Beach, Rosie O’Grady’s Bar and Grill and Casino Beach.
“People from Pensacola will have to take the locations with a grain of salt,” cautions the author. “It takes a long time to put a novel together. The city was going through a lot of changes while I was working on it. First, I had the main character working at University Mall, and then they tore that down. Then I had her living near the sewer plant, and they turned that into a baseball field. For their first date I chose Hunan’s, and that restaurant went out of business. After a while, I thought, well, at least I’m safe with the Blue Angels show. No one in their right mind is going to mess with that.”
“On Higher Ground” is a sweet romance about finding the courage to change.
Melanie Worlds has run out of luck; no job, no friends, no future. Desperately wanting to replace the middleclass life she once knew up on “the Hill”, her faith is being tested to the limits. JT, her newest friend, is up to something, but Melanie isn’t sure what it is. And then Brad, her high school crush, comes back to town. She can’t let him know how bad it is, or he’ll lose all respect for her. And, to make matters worse, someone is trying to break into her apartment.
None of her prayers are getting answered, and she feels all alone. But she’s not. Two guardian angels have been assigned to help these three humans. The angels know God’s plan, and it’s going to take everything they’ve got to pull it off. To battle temptation, the angels will need to instill courage; courage to dare, courage to dream, and most of all, courage to love one another.
People who have read the manuscript have this to say.
“A stunning story of angels, wonder and redemption. Prepare to be amazed.” Duffy Brown, author of “Iced Chiffon” and “Killer in Crinolines”
“This is a novel with a lot of heart and soul. But it’s also a very grounded one, thanks to the vivid, sometimes gritty details that Paula Hrbacek weaves into the narrative. So many spiritual novels aren’t, and the characters end up being mouthpieces for the author’s beliefs. That doesn’t happen with “On Higher Ground”. Hrbacek gets her message across without ever losing sight of the story itself or making her characters into cardboard cut-outs. The main characters — Melanie, J. T., and Brad — are fully fleshed out. We see them — faulty lines, good intentions, and all — and we care about what happens to them.” — T. J. Banks, author of “Sketch People: Stories Along the Way”.
Paula Hrbacek is the author of “Stars Shine After Dark” and four non-fiction craft books. She won first place in an international writing contest sponsored by Echoes of The Right to God in 2011. She majored in journalism at the University of Missouri-Columbia, and writes two newspaper columns for The Examiner, an online newspaper.
“On Higher Ground” is available in paperback, Kindle and Nook from Amazon and B&N.
ISBN-13: 978-1492197300
ISBN-10: 1492197300
Size 5×8
364 pages
Kindle version: $2.99
Paperback: $14.95
Author website:
Linked In:
Facebook fan page:
Amazon author page:

Stars Shine After Dark, a sweet Christian romance, available in paperback, Kindle and Nook.
Day Camp in Hawaii, a complete program guide for summer camp or summer school, available in paperback, Nook and Kindle. For more information see or my author page at
Please subscribe to The Examiner, a free online newspaper, and get email updates on my columns; Children’s Arts and Crafts, and Book Reviews.